The irony of being a new hire vs an veteran at an organization

21 Sep

This is based on what I’ve experienced at two employers that I’d generalize the assumption. It is with respect to QA test automation, but likely applies to other fields and disciplines as well.

It is funny that I notice that beinga new hire, I have extra time on my hands while I ramp up and get familiar with the company and it’s products/services, and it’s internal development processes, etc. I could actually make use of such spare time to further the company’s software quality in terms of test automation coverage and infrastructure (my specialty). But unfortunately, at such a point in time, I lack the familiarity and nuances of the system & processes to know what is lacking and what needs improvement.

I’ve observed it takes at least a year at any given company to gain the insider knowledge to know effectively what needs improvement or what’s missing, etc. And as that time grows and you become a veteran, there is so much you can contribute with your knowledge but by now, you’re saddled with other tasks to ever have the spare time (that you had as a new hire) to make the very useful contributions that you could make. So those ideas/efforts get related to “backlog” status or technical debt.

My, it sure would be nice if you could find/get a new hire who is smart & gets up to speed quickly sometimes. Maybe then you can hire such a new person, and while the company lets him/her sink in to familiarize with the company, you pass along all your backlog stuff you’ve wanted to do and have the newbie do it, if he/she were smart enough to do the job.

Oh the irony…why can’t I have my cake and eat it too? There’s always some trade-off…

Anyone also experience the irony that I’ve experienced?

Leave a Reply

Pete Zybrick

Bell Labs to Big Data

Seek Nuance

Python, technology, Seattle, careers, life, et cetera...

TELLURIUM

New Era of Test Automation

Der Flounder

Seldom updated, occasionally insightful.

The 4T - Trail, Tram, Trolley, Train

Exploring Portland with the 4T

Midnight Musings

Thoughts on making art

Automation Guide

The More You Learn The More You Play...!

The Performance Engineer

Code.Test.Tune.Optimize.

humblesoftwaredev

Thoughts related to software development

Yi Wang's Tech Notes

A blog ported from http://cxwangyi.blogspot.com

Appium Tutorial

Technical…..Practical…..Theoretically Interesting

LinuxMeerkat

I swear! Meerkats can do Linux

PacketsDropped

Requeuing the packets dropped in my memory.

Two cents of software value

Writing. Training. Consulting.

@akumar overflow

wisdom exceeding 140 chars.

